Vancouver Diocesan Council

Catholic Women’s League of Canada

The Diocesan Council of the  Catholic Women’s League of Canada in the Archdiocese of Vancouver was founded  November 21, 1924 with Mrs. C. McDonell as its first president with the  intention of uniting Catholic women as a community striving for spiritual,  cultural and intellectual growth and the development of social  action. With its mission statement, “Called to holiness through  service to the people of God”, the diocesan council’s mandate was to provide  direction, information and guidance to parish council presidents in order that  they may use it to take action regarding topics and issues pertinent to their  parishes.

The diocesan council is comprised of officers, presidents of parish councils in the diocese, parish  delegates accredited to the diocesan convention, and honorary life members and  life members holding a membership in the diocese. This body is directly  overseen by an executive, comprised of a president, secretary and treasurer,  together with Standing Committee chairpersons – all of whom are elected to  their respective positions.  Ideally, the council also elects a  president-elect, to be mentored and trained by the president in order that she  may take her place once the 2-year term of presidency has ended.

Today the diocesan council consists of 57 councils with a membership of close to 4500 members.

Diocesan Catholic  Women’s League Executive – Vancouver


Featured Events

There are no upcoming events.


Post YOUR Events:

To submit an event, simply  email our Communications Chair at .


The Catholic Women's League of Canada is a national organization rooted in Gospel values calling its members to holiness through service to the people of God.

Synod- a listening Church

To view our local synodal work and the Archdiocesan report: To view the recently published National report:

read more

Novena and Prayers for Healing and Reconciliation

We offer prayers and Novenas for Indigenous peoples who continue their healing from residential schools. We offer prayers and Novenas to support the Truth and Reconciliation process. Please use these prayers and share with others. [pdf-embedder...

read more

League Prayer

We humbly pray you, O God our Father, to bless The Catholic Women’s League of Canada. Bless our beloved country, our homes and families.

Send your Holy Spirit upon us to give light to our minds and strength to our wills that we may know and fulfill your great law of charity. Teach us to share with others at home and abroad,the good things you have given us.

This we ask through Our Lord Jesus Christ and the intercessions of our patroness, our Lady of Good Counsel.


Post YOUR Events

Take this opportunity to inform our community of your events.

To submit an event, simply email our
Communications Chair at .

Please allow approximately 2 weeks for your posting to become “live” on the website.

We look forward to hearing about your events and informing the Vancouver Council members.